Trophy-winning quartet among those recognised for services to cricket.

To see more articles, click here

Ben Stokes, Joe Root, Jos Buttler and England ODI captain Eoin Morgan are amongst seven PCA members to be included on the 2020 New Year Honours list for services to cricket.

Morgan, who captained England throughout their four-year journey to a first ever ICC Cricket World Cup triumph this July, has been awarded a CBE, whilst 2019 NatWest PCA Players’ Player of the Year Stokes, who was named Man of the Match in the final, will receive an OBE.

Test skipper Root and wicketkeeper Buttler, who both played starring roles in England’s successful World Cup campaign alongside Morgan and Stokes, will be made MBEs.

The quartet of PCA members are joined on the list by their victorious coach on that day, Trevor Bayliss (OBE), who helped to reverse England’s white ball fortunes throughout his time in charge of the team from 2015 to 2019.

ECB Chairman Colin Graves (CBE), has also been honoured, along with former England wicketkeeper Alan Knott (MBE) and legendary West Indies and Lancashire batsman Clive Lloyd CBE, who will now receive a knighthood.

Meanwhile former Hampshire and West Indies opener Gordon Greenidge has received the order of St Michael and St George Knight Commander and Warwickshire’s Keith Cook, although not a PCA member, has spent the last 46 years supporting his county’s players in his role as Operations Manager, has received the British Empire Medal.

Worcestershire batsman and PCA Chairman Daryl Mitchell said:

“It’s fantastic to see Eoin, Ben, Joe and Jos receive recognition for their part in England’s successful 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup campaign.

“The events of 14 July will live long in the memory of every cricket fan across the country, whilst also serving to inspire the next generation of professional cricketers for years to come.

“I would also like to congratulate three more PCA members, Alan Knott, Clive Lloyd and Gordon Greenidge, on their awards, as well as Trevor Bayliss who played a crucial behind-the-scenes role in England’s famous victory and Colin Graves for his services to cricket.”

PCA President Graham Gooch OBE said:

“My warmest congratulations go to all those who have been recognised on the 2020 New Year Honours list for services to our great game.

“2019 has been a watershed year for our sport, with PCA members leading the way in bringing cricket back into the national spotlight once again.

“Those PCA members who have been honoured continue to set the example for young cricketers everywhere, and the Association is extremely proud of their achievements.”