Press Release

Cockspur Rum To Sponsor ECB National Club Championship – 18/03/2004

Cockspur Rum To Sponsor ECB National Club Championship – 18/03/2004 Cockspur Rum, associated with Barbados since 1884, has entered into a three-year agreement with the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) to sponsor the National Club Championship. Cockspur therefore returns to sponsor a competition with which it was associated from 1987-1990. Winners Fly To Barbados! The 2004 Cockspur Cup will feature 332 of England, Wales and Scotland’s finest club sides, who will compete for the right to play in the final at Lord’s Cricket Ground on Tuesday 7 September 2004. The winners will not only take away the £ 6,000 first prize, but also, courtesy of Cockspur Rum, will be invited to play in the ” Annual Barbados Pro Am Festival” in November. Cockspur Moment Cockspur Rum will also sponsor the first National Club Championship Rankings by performance in the competition since 1990, currently led by 2002 champions Saffron Walden Cricket Club from Essex. In addition a new ” Cockspur Moment of the Round” award will be given to the appropriate club or individual after each round. Delighted Dave Smith, Cockspur’s Global Brand Director, said, ” Cockspur are delighted to be teaming up with the ECB to sponsor The Cockspur Cup and to support grass roots cricket. Cockspur will also look forward to welcoming the Cockspur Cup winners to Barbados in November 2004 to play in the "Annual Barbados Pro Am Festival", which is organised by the Professional Cricketers Association travel partner Rumsey Travel. Subject to his cricketing commitments, The Cockspur Cup winners will be ably captained by England and Essex fast bowler Darren Gough.” Competitive Cricket Frank Kemp, the ECB’s Cricket Operations Manager (recreational), said, ” I am delighted to welcome back Cockspur as sponsor of the ECB National Club Championship. With the added incentive of a trip to Barbados and a prize money pool of £ 23,000 available there will be plenty of competitive cricket played by the top clubs across the country. Clubs reaching the last 32 (the Group Finals) qualify for prize money, and in addition there will be opportunities for clubs to win Cockspur prizes for outstanding performances in each round of matches. ” Full details of all the matches will be published on ‘’, the ECB’s website for recreational cricket – and all clubs, including those who have not entered the Cockspur Cup, will be able to order Cockspur products through the site.” Prize Money The £ 23,000 prize money is split in the following way: Group Final losers (16 teams) win £ 250 each, 6th Round losers (eight teams) win £ 500 each, quarter-final losers win £ 750 each, semi-final losers win £ 1500 each, the losing finalist wins £ 3000 and the winner takes away £ 6000. Last Year Current champions are Derbyshire’s Sandiacre Town Cricket Club who, in their first ever final, defeated Bath Cricket Club by a nail-biting one run at Lord’s last September. This Year The draw for this year’s competition will be published today on