Press Release

Winners Announced at 2013 NatWest PCA Awards 04/10/13

Winners Announced at 2013 NatWest PCA Awards – 04/10/13 The PCA, in association with NatWest and the ECB, last night hosted the NatWest PCA Awards at the Roundhouse, London. In front of players, former players, officials and guests,Moeen Ali was crowned 2013 NatWest PCA Player of the Year, while Ben Stokes was named NatWest PCA Young Player of the Year. Worcestershire star, Ali, completed the finest season of his career with the bat and ball as the allrounder compiled more than 2,000 runs in all forms of cricket, as well as taking 55 wickets. He was the leading scorer in the LV=County Championship, finishing with 1,375 runs at an average of 62.50. He made a career-best 250 against Glamorgan and also scored three more hundreds, along with eight half-centuries. His 6-77 against Northamptonshire in the final game of the season helped the 26-year-old take the crown of the FTI Most Valuable Player Award, and the talented former Warwickshire player was then picked for England’s Performance Squad to tour Australia this Winter. Durham allrounder, Stokes, has been earmarked as a potential star since bowling out former England and Surrey batsman, Mark Ramprakash, with his third legal ball in senior cricket. The 22-year-old scored more than 1,400 runs with the bat in all forms of cricket this Summer, while also racking up 72 wickets. He played a major role in helping his county win their third LV=County Championship title in six years, taking 42 wickets. Having made his limited-overs debut for England in 2011, he returned to the one-day set-up in September, taking his maiden five-wicket haul before being named in England’s Ashes squad for the Winter. Martyn Wilson, Senior Sponsorship Manager at NatWest, said, ” NatWest have proudly been the title sponsor of the NatWest PCA Awards since our relationship with the organisation began back in 2003. We have always seen the Awards as a great opportunity to bring together the wider cricketing family to celebrate and reflect upon the achievements of all involved. Congratulations to all of tonight’s winners.” See below for the full list of award winners: Reg Hayter Cup for the NatWest PCA Player of the Year Moeen Ali (Worcestershire) John Arlott Cup for the NatWest PCA Young Player of the Year Ben Stokes (Durham) ECB Special Award Jim Cumbes PCA Special Merit Award, sponsored by Brit Insurance Tony Greig Friends Life t20 Player of the Year David Willey (Northamptonshire) Yorkshire Bank 40 Player of the Year Peter Trego (Somerset) LV=County Championship Player of the Year Graham Onions (Durham) England FTI MVP of the Summer James Anderson NatWest ODI Player of the Summer Ravi Bopara Investec Test Player of the Summer Graeme Swann Sky Sports Sixes League Winner Ryan ten Doeschate (Essex) FTI Team of the Year Joe Root (Yorkshire & England) Michael Klinger (Gloucestershire) Moeen Ali (Worcestershire) Ian Bell (Warwickshire & England) Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire) Ben Stokes (Durham & England) Phil Mustard (Durham) Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire & England) Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire & England) Michael Hogan (Glamorgan) James Anderson (Lancashire & England) The NatWest PCA Awards, universally supported by the players, are entirely not-for-profit. All monies raised are donated to the PCA Professional Cricketers’ Trust, part of the Association’s ongoing commitment to supporting players and their dependents, who might be in need of a helping hand to readjust to a world beyond cricket; as well as helping current and past players who may have fallen on hard times, or are in need of specialist advice or assistance. {{ak_sharing}}