THE PCA PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT AND WELFARE TEAM

 


 

   

Ian Thomas
Glamorgan, Gloucestershire, Somerset
National Personal Development Manager
07920 575 578
ithomas@thepca.co.uk

 

 

 

   

Matthew Wood
Yorkshire, Lancashire, Nottinghamshire
Personal Development Manager
07826 535 783
mwood@thepca.co.uk

 


 

   
Simon Ecclestone 
Middlesex, Essex, Kent
Personal Development Manager
07867 459202
secclestone@thepca.co.uk
 
     

Lynsey Williams
Worcestershire, Warwickshire,
Personal Development Manager
07990 883971
lwilliams@thepca.co.uk

 

 

 


Charlie Mulraine
Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Northants
Personal Development Manager
07867 459201
cmulraine@thepca.co.uk

 

 

 

 


Nick Denning
Hampshire, Surrey, Sussex, MCC YC
Personal Development Manager
07785 619443

ndenning@thepca.co.uk

 

 

 


The programme provides a range of services to players. Here is a brief guide to the services that are covered by the advisers:

  • Personal Development
  • Preparing for touring and travel
  • Communication skills
  • Relieving boredom
  • Time management
  • Self-organisation
  • Sponsorship and promotion
  • Media training
  • Leadership knowledge
  • Planning for retirement
  • Dealing with change (e.g. injury, moving counties, well-being)
  • Relationships
  • Negotiation skills
  • Dealing with agents
  • Financial budgeting
  • Public speaking
  • Nutritional cooking
  • Access to help with addictions (e.g. smoking, gambling, alcohol, drugs)

Professional Development

  • Exploration of career options
  • Identification of training needs
  • University and college courses
  • Study skills
  • Exam and assignment flexibility
  • Course selection
  • Government funding access
  • Online and home study
  • Prioritising personal skills and values
  • Career match computer programme
  • Structured work placements
  • Networking skills
  • CV development and writing skills
  • Interview and presentation techniques
  • Job searching
  • Job applications
  • Access to P.L.A.N. (Placement, Learning & Access Network)