Warwickshire open One-Day Cup defence with comfortable win

The 21-year-old, the leading run-scorer in the 2016 competition with 540 at an average of 60, struck an unbeaten 89 off 84 balls as the Bears chased a revised target of 159 with 24 deliveries of the rain-reduced 30-over contest to spare.

Will Porterfield also compiled 63 not out after Warwickshire justified captain Ian Bell's decision to field with a superb bowling performance, dismissing Northants for 151.

While Rob Keogh made an unbeaten 69, only three other batsmen made double figures as Oliver Hannon-Dalby took three for 24.

Michael Lumb's 104 proved in vain as Nottinghamshire lost to Worcestershire by five wickets on the Duckworth/Lewis method at New Road.

Lumb propelled Notts to 273 for six, after England Test skipper Joe Root's brother Billy added 46, but Ross Whiteley smacked 41 from 19 balls to help Worcestershire chase their revised target of 168 in 22 overs.

Tom Alsop's unbeaten 112 ensured Hampshire chased 260 to beat Kent by six wickets in the South Group clash at Canterbury.

Skipper James Vince also contributed a 50-ball 69 for Hampshire after sticking Kent in and restricting them to 258 all out, Darren Stevens and Daniel Bell-Drummond hitting half-centuries.

Jacques Rudolph struck a hundred in Glamorgan's 18-run D/L method win over Gloucestershire.

After the veteran South African hit 121 of 277 for seven, passing 10,000 List A runs in the process, Gloucestershire's target was revised to 251 from 44 overs and they fell just short despite 78 from Michael Klinger and 51 from both Graeme van Buuren and Jack Taylor.

Middlesex smashed 341 for five before seeing rain strike when Sussex were 26 for one in reply at Lord's.

Paul Stirling (71), John Simpson (82 not out) and James Franklin (69) hit fifties while Ryan Higgins added late impetus with an unbeaten 48 off just 23 balls, including 24 from the final over from Ajmal Shahzad.

Durham and Derbyshire also suffered similar frustration at Chester-le-Street, the weather ending their clash with the hosts 194 for two following 83 not out from Michael Richardson and Keaton Jennings' 79.

  Sam Hain guided Warwickshire to a comfortable win
Sam Hain guided Warwickshire to a comfortable win